Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Questions and information about Crank Software's Storyboard Engine

Moderator: jamiev

Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby Yven » Thu Jul 19, 2018 8:39 am

Hi
I want to run simple application on QNX6.5.0, but i get a mistake:
"Unable to load a renderer
Failed to run engine using file: .. .gapp"
Running so:
"export GRE_PLUGINS=/homeTestFolder/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/home/TestFolder/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/lib
cd /home/TestFolder/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/bin/
./sbengine -vvvvv /home/TestFolder/FirstTest/FirstTest.gapp"
Version of Crank is 3.2. In version Storyboard 5.0 i don't found folder for QNX6.5.0 (x86).

Can you help me to correct the mistake?
Yven
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:57 am

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby rdowdall » Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:13 am

Hello Yven

Are you running Photon before you try and launch the SDL runtime? Did you install SDL on the system prior to trying to run Storyboard?

One of the things that you can try is the following:

export GRE_PLUGINS=/homeTestFolder/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/home/TestFolder/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/lib
ldd /home/TestFolder/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins/librender-plugin-sdl.so

to see why the render manager is failing to load.

If you need something that works without Photon, then I suggest taking a look at the GFSW render manager. Also to discuss possible options for an updated x86 Storyboard runtime for QNX 6.5, you can contact our support at support@cranksoftware.com.

Thanks,
Rodney
rdowdall
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby Yven » Fri Jul 20, 2018 9:35 am

I running Photon before try to run application.
Where i can download SDL runtime for QNX6.5.0 for x86?
I download from here http://community.qnx.com/sf/frs/do/view ... _3_svn5297, but i get mistake:
"/home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins/librender-plugin-sdl.so:
librender-plugin-sdl.so => /home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins/librender-p
lugin-sdl.so (0xb8200000)
libgre.so => /home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/lib/libgre.so (0xb8263000)
libm.so.2 => /lib/libm.so.2 (0xb8289000)
ldd: Library cannot be found
FATAL (1):Unable to load a renderer
Failed to run engine using file: /home/FirstTest/FirstTest.gapp"
Yven
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:57 am

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby rdowdall » Mon Jul 23, 2018 1:50 pm

Hello Yven

There used to be an SDL binary available through the package installer for QNX 6.5. I am not sure if it is there still. Your other option is to build the library yourself from source files.

Thanks,
Rodney
rdowdall
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby Yven » Tue Jul 24, 2018 3:51 am

Where i can download source filles? I try to build from source code from http://community.qnx.com/sf/frs/do/view ... _3_svn5297, but i got a mistakes
Yven
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:57 am

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby rdowdall » Tue Jul 24, 2018 7:37 am

Hello Yven

The source can be downloaded from here:

https://www.libsdl.org/download-1.2.php

However, when I click on the link that you provided, I was able to download the binaries. What was the error that you received?

Thanks,
Rodney
rdowdall
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby Yven » Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:24 am

Mistake:
src/video/qnxgf/SDL_gf_opengles.c:33: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
_attribute__' before 'void'
src/video/qnxgf/SDL_gf_opengles.c:40: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
_attribute__' before 'void'
src/video/qnxgf/SDL_gf_opengles.c:48: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '_
_attribute__' before 'void'
make: *** [build/SDL_gf_opengles.lo] Error 1
Yven
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:57 am

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby rdowdall » Tue Jul 24, 2018 8:35 am

Hello Yven

The download from the link that you provided contained prebuilt binaries. You shouldn't have to build it. In the archive, there is a lib directory that contains the libSDL.so library.

If you are going to build SDL yourself, you will need to take a look at the configure options and turn things on and off. You probably don't need OpenGLES in this case, so you could turn that off. Really for your build, they only thing you will need is the photon support.

Thanks,
Rodney
rdowdall
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:46 pm

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby Yven » Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:04 am

I download from here http://community.qnx.com/sf/frs/do/view ... _3_svn5297 , copy all files from /usr/lib (among them libSDL.so) in folder /lib , run script
export GRE_PLUGINS=/home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$LD_LIBRARY_PATH:/home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/lib
ldd /home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins/librender-plugin-sdl.so
and get mistake "ldd: Library cannot be found"
Yven
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 5:57 am

Re: Unable to load a renderer on QNX6.5.0

Postby rdowdall » Tue Jul 24, 2018 9:59 am

Hello Yven

So in that case, I believe that we are linked against a 1.2 version of the library, and the one that you downloaded is 1.3. To verify this you can do the following:

objdump -x /home/qnx-6_5-x86-sdl-obj/plugins/librender-plugin-sdl.so | grep NEEDED

and it will spit out the libraries that are needed by that shared object. If it says that you need libSDL.so.2, then you don't currently have that, you have libSDL.so.3

To get around this, it may be possible to simply rename the libSDL.so.3 to libSDL.so.2, but there may be compatibility issues between the two projects, or the soname may be hardcoded into the library, so you then back to compiling the 1.2 version on your machine. If that is the case, then running configure --help, and stripping out everything except for the photon parts should work. Also, it is possible that the SDL library is not the problem. Looking at some old documentation, I found the following:

libSDL.so
libfreetype.so
libph.so
libasound.so

So it could be that the freetype library is also needed.

Why is it that you need to run Storyboard in a Photon environment? Is there a hard requirement on this? There might be a better route to go then trying to support this older version of Storyboard.

Thanks,
Rodney
rdowdall
 
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 9:46 pm

Next

Return to Storyboard Engine

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests